I Will Keep You In My Thoughts but Not My Prayers

Richard Francis Burton once said, “The more I study religions the more I am convinced that man never worshiped anything but himself.”

I grew up in a small Christian community where most of my peers were Catholic. Once upon a time, I accepted Christ as my lord and savior as I was later baptized.  My family was active in the church, but I changed my views on religion after I left for college. I was constantly wondering what if. There was no proof that a higher power ultimately existed or not, therefore, I remained skeptical.

I am Agnostic. For you to have a better understanding of Agnostic(ism), it is defined as: a person who believes that nothing is known or can be known of the existence or nature of God or of anything beyond material phenomena; a person who claims neither faith nor disbelief in God.  This term is not to be confused with Atheism. I am not arrogant or selfish enough to believe there is not a higher power out there beyond what my own mind can comprehend. On the other hand, I am not ignorant enough to fully believe in something that has yet to be proven. I just simply do not know.

My mother uses religion as a comfort blanket. She lost my sister when she was only 32 days old, and religion allows her to believe she will have the opportunity to see and hold her first born again. She deserves that peace of mind, as would anyone else. In my mind it is not practical, however, I do not have the heart to tell her about how I perceive it. Although religion has many good aspects about it, there is a lot I do not agree with. Especially within the church. I was living a life in fear as a Christian. Do not live you life this way, or you will burn in the fiery pits of hell.  Life is about living out experiences and learning from them. Just because I do not believe in a God does not mean I lack morals. If you need a higher power to tell you that murdering a person is bad, then you should reevaluate yourself. It should be a natural instinct to live a morally correct life in all you do. I am Agnostic, and I am still a good person.

Another topic that has me perplexed is the beautiful architecture of buildings we worship in and what they are filled with. We do not necessarily need a church to go to every Sunday morning to praise God and all of his glory. There are people in the world who are struggling to survive in this world. The financing that has gone into these building can go for a good cause such as feeding the hungry. Putting clothes on these people’s backs and shoes on their feet. Would that not be the moral thing to do?

There is also the whole ‘my God is better than your god’ complex. I have never understood why religion was not universal. I know that a majority of it is that we have no proof of what religion is the right religion.

I have always been open to learning about different religions. It is intriguing to see how similar most religions are, yet how different they all can be.

Leave a Reply

